Curriculum Content

Eppleton Academy Primary School - Curriculum Content


Early Years Foundation Stage


The early years foundation stage (EYFS) sets standards for the learning, development and care of children from birth to 5 years old. The government sets out the early learning goals, which can be found in the Early Years Framework:


The progress of children in Nursery and Reception classes is reviewed and assessed by early years practitioners and teachers.

At Eppleton, we believe that children develop in the context of relationships and the environment around them and there are particular characteristics of effective learning, which move through all areas of learning. These are:

• playing and exploring

• active learning

• creating and thinking critically


Prime Areas

These are fundamental, work together, and move through to support development in all other areas.

• Personal, Social and Emotional Development

• Communication and Language

• Physical Development


Specific Areas

These include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.

• Literacy

• Mathematics

• Understanding the World

• Expressive Arts and Design


Key Stages 1 and 2

At Eppleton Academy Primary School, we follow the programmes of study for the National Curriculum in English and Maths for all year groups.






For all other subjects, please click the links below:


T. 0191 553 6738